How to use Groups and Locations

Introduction

On this page, we will describe the use and purpose of Locations and Groups in Noah ES, for users with the required permissions. We will introduce the prerequisites for using completing this guide, Creating a location, and how to add your users and your patients to said location.

Why locations and groups?

Locations and groups were added to Noah ES as a way for users to regulate and segment their database. For example adding all the patients who frequent a particular clinic, to a location in Noah ES, that represents that physical location and then further adding all the relevant clinical staff who see patients in that particular location. This way only the staff for whom it is relevant to this patient, will be able to see their patient data, providing additional security and control for the owner of an account.

Creating a Location

Congratulations you already created your first location! This is to say that all patients, when they enter Noah ES, are automatically assigned a default location, under the name of the business. However, if you wish to create additional locations, you may do so by following the following steps.

Q: Is it possible for a patient record to be assigned to multiple locations and groups?

A: Yes

Q: I currently use Noah System 4 and have multiple offices. Each office has a separate database. When I copy the data into Noah ES can I indicate which location or group I wish for these patients to belong to?

A: Yes. If you have your locaitons/groups set up then the migration utility will prompt you for you desired selection.

Q: Once patients are located in Noah ES is it possible to assign large batches of patients to a location or group?

A: This is currently not supported.

  1. Log into the Noah ES Portal

  2. For EU Customers: http://portal.eu.noah-es.com/

  3. For US Customers: http://portal.us.noah-es.com/

  4. Select Settings, from the sidebar and then select Locations and Patient Groups from the drop down menu.

Selecting Locations and Patient Groups from the Settings drop down menu, in the sidebar.
  1. Select the plus sign, to add an additional group or location to your account.

Selecting the button labelled with a plus icon

 

  1. Now you may enter a name for your desired group or location

  2. Then you may select whether it should be registered as a group or a location.

    1. The main difference between the two is that locations offer fields to describe where the location is and how it may be reached.

    2. Only a name and type are strictly required to create a new Group or Location.

  3. Depending on what you have selected, you may then fill out the relevant text fields. You may then press the button found in the bottom right of the view, labeled “Create” and this will finish the creation of your new group.

Filling out the required fields, to create a location.

 

  1. Now your new location or group will appear in the list, under the Manage Locations and Patient Groups view.

  2. You may edit existing groups with the grey pencil icon, found on the far left of the listed groups and locations.

  3. Now you have created a new group, it is time to add patients and users to it, as a group is not useful when no one is in it yet. Please continue, with Assigning Users below.

A new location has been added.

 

 

Assigning Users

  1. In order to use your new group, you will first need to assign yourself to it, this is done by selecting Manage Users from the sidebar.

  2. Then you may select the grey pencil icon, associated with your own user, found in the user list, in the Manage Users view.

 

  1. In the Manage Users > Edit view, you may now select the Locations and Patient Groups drop-down menu and select the name of your newly created group.

  2. Then select the button labeled “Save” which may be found in the bottom left of the view.

 

  1. Now your new group will appear in the list of groups and locations that this user is associated with. Which is found underneath the drop-down menu in Locations and Patient Groups.

  2. Please note the little trash bin icon, found next to each group and location. This can be used to remove users from the relevant groups. NOTE! Do not use this at this time.

 

 

Assigning Patients

  1. Now go and launch your local Noah ES client and select a patient.

  2. Then select the person and pencil icon, to edit the selected patient.

 

  1. In the Patient Details view, select the Locations and Patient Groups drop-down menu

  2. Then select the new group you have just created. This newly added group will now be visible, next to the Locations and Patient Groups dropdown menu, and any other groups already associated with the patient.

  3. Then select the button on the bottom right, that is labeled with “OK”.

  4. Your patient is now a part of your new group.

NOTE!
Should you wish to remove a patient from a given group, you may do so by selecting it from the drop down menu in this view.